

50 SOUTH YOUNG STREET SUITE M-102 COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215

> Robert Britton Bucyrus City School District 170 Plymouth Street Bucyrus, OH 44820

> > June 12, 2023

STEERING COMMITTEE

Cathy Johnson III Ackerman Monte Bainter Vaughn Bell Linda Blum Eve Bolton Eric Brown A.J. Calderone T.C. Chappelear Mike Collins Walter Davis Steve Dyer Polly Taylor-Gerken Dan Heintz Nneka Slade-lackson Lori Snyder-Lowe Craig McKendry Joel Parker Tom Perkins Beryl Brown Piccolantonio Eric Resnick Jocelyn Rhynard Ginny Stewart Andy Wilson Charlie Wilson Donna Wilson Rick Vilardo, ex-officio

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

William L. Phillis 614.332.2886

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

Lisa Myers 614.228.6540 Dear Superintendent Britton,

Enclosed is an invoice for your FY2023-2024 dues. Please use your most recent headcount enrollment (October 2022) in computing the amount of dues owed.

In spite of the pushback from certain state officials and national and state school privatizers groups, we are moving the case forward with precision and accuracy. Our attorneys hit the bullseye with the claims filed against the constitutionality of the EdChoice voucher system. Franklin County Common Pleas Judge Jaiza Page rejected the State's Motion to Dismiss in December 2022. (The State Defendants were supported by two well-financed intervenors.) Judge Page allowed ALL five of our claims to go forward. The forces against us are of Goliath proportions; but we are sincere in our convictions and resolve to win this case and like David, we WILL win!

The viability of the public common school system is at stake. Vouchers unlimited will eventually starve the public system; we have no choice but to win this lawsuit.

Some influential state officials know they can't defend the EdChoice voucher scheme in the court; thus they are attempting to intimidate school district officials. See the other side of this letter for a quick review of their scare tactics. We are counting on your ongoing support.

Please contact me at 614.332.2886 if you have any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

Cathy
Cathy Johnson
Temporary Steering Committee Chair
Board Member, South-Western City Schools

Enclosure (1)

Bill
William L. Phillis
Executive Director

Phone: 614.228.6540 Fax: 614.228.6542 Email: ohioeanda@sbcglobal.net ohiocoalition.org vouchershurtohio.com